Loggie Crowned 2022 British GT3 Champion After Dramatic Donington Finale

    (Donington Park, Derbyshire, United Kingdom – October 2022) In a thrilling conclusion to the 2022 Intelligent Money British GT Championship, Ian Loggie was crowned the GT3 champion after finishing second in the race at Donington Park. The #6 Ram Racing Mercedes driver overcame early adversity to secure the title, despite a challenging start to the weekend.

    The nail-biting finale saw several championship contenders face setbacks, with Morgan Tillbrook and Marcus Clutton receiving a drive-through penalty for causing an incident on the opening lap. However, they managed to recover and take the final step on the podium. In the GT4 class, Richard Williams and Sennan Fielding secured the championship title for Steller Motorsport, finishing second behind the victorious Toyota Gazoo Racing UK GR Supra of Tom Edgar and Jordan Collard.

    “The 2022 Intelligent Money British GT Championship has delivered a thrilling season, with the Donington Park finale providing a fitting end to the campaign.”

    The race was not without its share of drama, as Loggie found himself in the gravel trap on the opening lap and then spun on the second lap, putting his championship hopes in jeopardy. However, the seasoned racer battled back, with the #2 Seas Motorsport Mercedes of James Cottingham also suffering setbacks, allowing Loggie to regain the upper hand in the title chase.

    In the end, it was the Century Motorsport BMW M4 GT3 of Alexander Sims and Darren Leung that took the overall victory, with Leung making his GT3 debut. The result marked the first GT3 win for the BMW M4 GT3 in the British GT Championship, adding to the 16 GT4 race wins the model has achieved.

    The GT4 class saw a dominant performance from the Toyota Gazoo Racing UK GR Supra, with Edgar and Collard taking their first win in the series. The battle for the GT4 championship went down to the wire, with Darren Turner and Matt Topham securing the Pro-Am title, but narrowly missing out on the overall championship by just 5.5 points.

    Congratulations to Ian Loggie, Richard Williams, and Sennan Fielding on their respective championship triumphs, as well as to all the teams and drivers who have contributed to an exciting year of British GT racing.

    ๐Ÿ”— Source